Rubix Kube 3: Return of the ’80s

Rubix Kube opening In what is becoming a regular occurrence, I got to see “The Galaxy’s Most Original 80s Tribute Band”, Rubix Kube once again! They came to my area, Foxboro, Massachusetts, last Saturday night, March 14, 2015 at the Showcase Live. This is now the 3rd time I’ve seen the unofficial house band of Return to the ’80s. I’ve written about my first experience with seeing the band, as well as my second time. So, we’ll continue the trend here.

When I arrived, I was there around the same time as the previous concerts. But, something was a little different this time. There were quite a few more people than usual. We were all psyched to learn that the concert was sold out! I am so happy that this awesome band is becoming more and more popular, as well they should.

Personally, I Return to the ’80s every day. But, it is just so rejuvenating to be in a big room with so many people that love the ’80s as much as me. It is so electrifying. And if any of you are able to go see this incredible band, I highly recommend it.

Like most bands, there are some songs that are crowd favorites, and become staples that get played every time. In this case, we got “If I Could Turn Back Time”, “Here I Go Again”, and of course the closers – “Video Killed the Radio Star” and “Don’t Stop Believin'”. We also got some songs that I had not seen the band perform yet, which made the show fresh and exciting.

Now, I’ll share some pictures, and a couple of videos, from this incredible night.

Come on EileenIn the spirit of St. Patrick’s Day, Rubix Kube played the Irish sounding “Come On Eileen.” In this picture is lead singer Cherie and lead guitarist Steve.

 

more of the bandHere is the other lead singer – Scott and bass player David Z.

 

MickeyOh Mickey, you’re so fine, you’re so fine, you’re so fine you blow my mind, hey Mickey!

GNRAxl

A Guns ‘n’ Roses reunion?!?

like a virgininto the groove

Madonna in the house!! We got some old school Madonna with “Like a Virgin” and “Into the Groove”

dead or aliveThis was a pleasant surprise!! They did such a great job with “You Spin Me Round (Like a Record)”

 

straight up“Straight Up”, we got some Paula Abdul!!!


And here is a first! Steve Brown, founder and lead guitarist of the rock band, Trixter and more recently with Def Leppard, brings out his inner Daryl Hall with “You Make My Dreams Come True.” You can go ahead and watch this!

africa Here is another surprise. The band performed one of my favorite ’80s songs – “Africa” by Toto.

time of my lifeRubix Kube gave us “The Time of Our Lives”!

hair bandWe pretty much rocked out the rest of the night!

litaCherie was awesome as Lita Ford doing “Kiss Me Deadly”.

This part was awesome! You can watch the video. It starts with Steve Brown singing “You Give Love a Bad Name”, then turns it over to Scott with “Livin’ On a Prayer”. So awesome. You can get a sense of the energy of the crowd a little. It is nothing compared to being there, but it’s still awesome!

heartbreakerHere is a picture of Cherie performing “Heartbreaker” by Pat Benatar. She was incredible! You can tell that she grew up listening and singing Pat Benatar. I wish I took video of this. But as you could probably tell, I was right near the front of the stage. So, I didn’t want to be one of “those people holding up the phone the entire time.

ozzyozzy2We took a ride on the “Crazy Train” with some Ozzy!

I am always blown away every time I see this band. If you follow my site, you would definitely love going to one of these concerts. You’ll be hooked!

You can learn more about the band, and check out their schedule on their web site.
You can also ‘Like’ their Facebook page and follow them on Twitter. And you can subscribe to their YouTube page.

So, go check them out whenever you can, and maybe I’ll see you there!

3 thoughts on “Rubix Kube 3: Return of the ’80s”

Leave a Reply

