Deep Tracks: a-ha – Hunting High and Low

Hunting High and Low (1985)

This is a beautiful ballad that captures the listener right away. I really enjoy the phrasing of the lyrics that can be seen right away, “Here I am / And within the reach of my hand / She’s sound asleep and she’s sweeter / Than the wildest dream could have seen her / And I watch her slipping away.” Lyrically, the song is the story of a man searching for the woman he let get away – nothing earth shaking, but a-ha adds a haunting quality to the music and vocals. The listener can sense the man’s desperation as he expresses the regret of having let her go. You can also sense his determination to never give up on his search, “I’ll always be hunting high and low / Hungry for you / Watching me tear myself to pieces / . . . There’s no end to the lengths I’ll go.”

Musically the song keyboard and synthesizer based, but is not reliant upon that catchy keyboard hook to impress the listener. “Hunting High and Low” is a smooth, beautiful song that displays the range that this band has – once again demonstrating the strength of their debut album.

Leave a Reply

