Top 40 Songs This Week – May 24, 1980: Songs 20-11

Hi Everybody! It’s time to continue the countdown. If you missed the previous songs, you can still check out songs 40-31 and 30-21. Today, there will be quite a few songs you know. This is going to be a ballad heavy day today. Let’s Return to the week ending May 24, 1980, and continue the countdown.

20. “Little Jeannie” by Elton John

I love this song! I forget that this is an ’80s song, and not one of Elton John’s ’70s hits. This song came from the 21 at 33 album, and peaked all the way at #3, and was a #1 hit on the Adult Contemporary chart.

19. “She’s Out of My Life” by Michael Jackson

This ballad was the fourth single released from Michael Jackson’s Off the Wall album. We haven’t even entered the Thriller era yet at this point, and he was already breaking records. This song peaked at #10 marking the first time any solo artist had ever achieved four Top 10 hits from one album.

18. “Steal Away” by Robbie Dupree

indexThis is my pick for Song of the Day. This is one of my favorite soft rock songs of the late ’70s/early ’80s. I have somewhat recently learned that this type of music actually has a genre name – Yacht Rock (Thanks Jim)! A couple of months ago, there was a new station added to Sirius/XM, called Yacht Rock. This song really brings me back, and reminds me of good times.

17. “Another Brick in the Wall (Part 2)” by Pink Floyd

Is it possible to like a song, and hate it at the same time? I love the music and sound. But, the lyrics “We don’t need no education” makes me cringe so bad. It’s like nails on a chalkboard to me. I don’t have too many pet peeves, but this, and “Booga-booga-booga! Ah-ah-ahhh!” from St. Elmo’s Fire drive me so crazy, it makes me want to hand Jason his machete, and say, “OK, do your thing and put me out of my misery”.

16. “Breakdown Dead Ahead” by Boz Scaggs

Back to some Yacht Rock! I love a lot of Boz Scaggs’ music. This isn’t one of my favorite songs by him, but I still like it a lot. This was off of Scaggs’ ninth album, Middle Man, which featured members of Toto as the session musicians.

15. “Brass in Pocket (I’m Special)” by The Pretenders

This was The Pretenders’ breakthrough hit. It peaked at #14 in the U.S. However, it was a #1 hit in Januuary in the U.K., making it the first #1 hit of the ’80s in the U.K.

14. “Coming Up / Coming Up (Live At Glasgow)” by Paul McCartney and Wings

This is a typical Paul McCartney earworm song. McCartney played all the instruments on this song, and his wife, Linda, shared harmonies with him.

13. “The Rose” by Bette Midler

I only know a few Bette Midler songs, and this is one of them. “The Rose” was the second single released from the soundtrack of the movie of the same name, and was a smash hit. Midler won the Grammy Award for Best Female Pop Vocal Performance for “The Rose”, beating out some powerhouses like Barbra Streisand and Donna Summer.

12. “I Can’t Help It” by Andy Gibb and Olivia Newton-John

Next up, a future Solid Gold host, and my first crush. Andy Gibb and Olivia Newton-John sound good together. This is a good song, written by Andy’s big brother, Barry Gibb.
Andy Gibb would play this song on Punky Brewster on the episode “Play It Again, Punky” where Gibb would guest star as Punky’s piano teacher.

11. “Against the Wind” by Bob Seger and the Silver Bullet Band

The best thing about this song? It’s not “Old Time Rock and Roll” or “Like a Rock”. This is a good song, which features Glenn Frey on background vocals. “Against the Wind” won the Grammy award for Best Rock Performance by a Duo or Group with Vocal.


That wraps up today’s list. I hope you enjoyed it. Like I said, this was ballad heavy. But, I think they were all some pretty good songs. There will be less ballads tomorrow, and some absolute ’80s gems that I know you’ll like. So, please come back tomorrow when we wrap up the countdown.

Leave a Reply

