Deep Tracks: Duran Duran’s Andy Taylor – Bringing Me Down

Well, we come to the conclusion of another great week of music, brought to us by Robert. I can’t believe I had never heard any of these songs before. I hope you enjoyed these as much as I have. Andy Taylor is an incredible rock guitarist, and probably one of the most underrated. So, let’s listen to one last great song by him. And thanks, Robert, for continuing this great series.


Bringing Me Down

I have spoiled myself and saved my favorite song from Thunder for last. I always felt that this would have made a great single, but I do understand the radio friendly releases from this album and the soundtracks Taylor is featured on. All of the things I like are here: quiet guitar and bass intro that explode into a full band and catchy, song sustaining rhythm, a killer chorus, and a great solo. Once again, there are pretty simple lyrics about a man yearning for a woman who seems to be in love with someone else: “It’s time to go but I can’t stop / ‘Cause I can’t find which way to go / You’re tearin’ me, me apart /With twisted love, ain’t no doubt.” Insert the catch chorus here. I love the phrasing that Taylor uses here, “I can’t help it that you’re in love / I know you’re wrapped around / But you are bringing me down.”
The song continues, “Why don’t you spend some time with me / It’s hard to talk but time to walk / Into my lonely emptiness / And time to find a place to rest.” This song is the one that I returning to more often than not from this album. Great stuff!


Thunder is an absolute masterpiece of 80s pop/rock, but many have never heard of it. I like Duran Duran, but after spending (a lot) of time with Thunder it becomes clear that the band never really let Andy Taylor soar and do his thing. Taylor is an excellent guitarist who was in a great band, but not a guitar driven band. His solo work deserves to be heard by every fan of the ‘80s. If you are not familiar with his music, take some time a find his stuff on Youtube – I promise you will like it.

This discussion of Andy Taylor has conjured up memories of one of the other tapes I bought in a fevered rush before the airplane took off – next week: Night Ranger.

Leave a Reply

