One Hit Wonders: The Georgia Satellites

Keep Your Hands to Yourself by The Georgia Satellites

by Robert Mishou

I definitely have a liking for Southern rock. Thirty-Eight Special is one of my favorite bands as well as one of the best concerts I have ever been to. The Georgia Satellites have more of country sound in vocalist Dan Baird, but the music rocks. This song, released in 1986, reached #2 on the AT 40 and is instantly recognizable, remaining one of the more popular One Hit Wonders to come out of the ‘80s. No complex lyrics here- just a guy who wants a girl, but she is insisting on marriage first. Excellent guitar work accompanies somewhat tongue-in-cheek lyrics like:

B-B-B-baby baby baby why you want treat me this way
You know I’m still your lover boy I still feel the same way
That’s when she told me a story, ’bout free milk and a cow
And said no hug-ee no kiss-ee until I get a wedding vow
My honey my baby, don’t put my love upon no shelf
She said don’t hand me no lines and keep your hands to yourself

I think this is one of the more ‘fun’ songs from the ‘80s. It sure seemed like the Georgia Satellites had what it took to be band that would be around for a while, but it was not meant to be. Dan Baird would later hit the charts with the equally fun song “I Love you Period”, and while the band is still performing, they have undergone major lineup changes with guitarist Rick Richards being the only original member remaining.


There you have five more classic One Hit Wonders from the decade with the best all time One Hit Wonders. There will be five more coming at you next week.

Leave a Reply

