Top 40 Songs This Week – May 3, 1980: Songs 10-1

Welcome back once again as we wrap up this week’s Top-40. If you missed the previous songs, you can check out songs 40-31, 30-21 and 20-11. This is a pretty decent top 10. Let’s Return to the week ending May 3, 1980, and jump into the top 10 songs.

10. “Hold On to My Love” by Jimmy Ruffin

Jimmy Ruffin is best known for his 1966 hit “What Becomes of the Brokenhearted“. “Hold On to My Love” has more of a disco sound to it. This song, written by Robin Gibb, would become Jimmy Ruffin’s second biggest hit.

9. “Sexy Eyes” by Dr. Hook

This is a nice soft rock song, which sounds like a layover from the ’70s. This song makes me want to put on some roller skates, and take a spin around the rink.

8. “I Can’t Tell You Why” by The Eagles

This was the first Eagles song to feature Timothy B. Schmit on lead vocals. This was the first song finished for the album, The Long Run, which was the band’s last studio album before their infamous breakup in 1980.

7. “You May Be Right” by Billy Joel

Great rock song from Billy Joel’s Glass Houses album. The guitar in the song sounds like it was heavily influenced by The Beatles.

6. “Fire Lake” by Bob Seger

Middle of the road Bob Seger tune. I don’t know how this got ranked so high. It’s not bad, but it’s also not that great.

5. “Another Brick in the Wall (Part 2)” by Pink Floyd

“We don’t need no education”. Uh…yeah, it kind of sounds like you do! If you can get past that and past “If you don’t eat yer meat, you can’t have any pudding. How can you have any pudding if you don’t eat yer meat?”, then this is a good song.

4. “With You I’m Born Again” by Billy Preston and Syreeta

This sounds like it would be a good ballad in a Broadway musical. I like both of their voices.

3. “Lost in Love” by Air Supply

This was Air Supply’s breakout hit in the U.S. Listening to Air Supply brings me back to my Junior High School dances. Whenever it was time for a slow dance, somebody would throw on an Air Supply album.

2. “Ride Like the Wind” by Christopher Cross

Awesome Christopher Cross song. This was the first single released from his classic self-titled debut album. That whole album is great, and this song stands out. And I don’t know if I ever heard a song I didn’t like that has Michael McDonald on background vocals.

1. “Call Me” by Blondie

And we have reached the #1 song. This worldwide smash hit was #1 in the U.S. for 6 straight weeks. I really do love Blondie rock songs. This was a great way to wrap up the countdown.

Well, that concludes this week’s Top-40. I hope you enjoyed it! Next week we will head more towards the middle of the decade. Until then, “Keep your feet on the ground and keep reaching for the stars.”

2 thoughts on “Top 40 Songs This Week – May 3, 1980: Songs 10-1”

  1. Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah! Take me back to yesterday! Pilot of the airwaves, here is *my* request: never play song #5!

    Not crazy about Lost In Love (which you currently have at #3 and #2) either, but I don’t go nuts if it gets stuck in my head.

    The rest of the countdown is good (I really like 9, 8, 7 and 2), but I just can’t click the like button today.

    Like

Leave a Reply